Applying Gentleness To Everything You Do

Posted on April 17, 2010. Filed under: Health, Lifestyle, Marriage, Men, Relationship, Women | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Growing up in the United States over the past 30 years, I have seen how our social model stresses the importance of striving and working hard in order to achieve desired goals and objectives, however, what I have discovered is that there is great power and possibility that opens up when you utilize gentleness and silence in your thoughts and feelings within yourself and then utilizing gentleness in your words and actions with others.  This shift from task orientation to a relationship focus can assist us in finding our center once again.  In traveling all over the world throughout my young adulthood, I have witness different approaches to living that are not only a more effective way of living, but much more enjoyable.  Several times I have set the intention to incorporate these new approaches to living and for the first 2 months I am successful; however, over time my own culture pushes me back to the familiar way of functioning.  In reading a book entitled, “Tuesdays with Morrie” the protagonist suggested to decide how to choose to live your life and despite it going against the cultural structure or social norms creating your own culture that is congruent with your own value system and everyday reaffirming your approach to living everyday.  The Asian culture provides some amazing strategies and cultural norms that benefit the lifestyle and inner well-being of the individual.  Some approaches are yoga, chi gong, meditation and mindfulness.  In incorporating these approaches to my daily routine, it has been very useful to maintain my internal equilibrium and thus in my relationships and actions.  The second lesson I have learned from Asian culture is their focus on the needs of the community.   This  cultivates a style of living that is selfless in nature and shifts from a reactive and driven mode of functioning to an attentive, passive and receptive approach to living.  In applying gentleness in our interpersonal relationships it can radically transform our lives and can shift how we function personally and professionally.  Although it may seem counter intuitive initially, over time you will discover a more peaceful approach to living.  If you would like to learn more about mindfulness, please visit my other post entitled Improving Well-being Mindfully.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...